What a Fighter Your Dad Is

Man, if it is not one thing it is another! What a fighter your Dad is! I know how proud of him you are.

Ted, June 1, 2012

It’s always special to see how others who haven’t met my dad see him through my eyes.  Long story short, I took him to have an esophageal dilation to remedy his recent uptick in the number of incidents he’s had choking on his food lately.  During the procedure the doc didn’t like what he saw and took a few biopsies.  Now hearing of biopsies is never good and it was awesome to hear the well wishes I received for my dad from people that had never met him.  But to hear Ted’s reflection of him just made my day.  Couldn’t have been more spot on.

Dad is a fighter, and one thing that puts his dukes up is his martini.  We went out to dinner a few weeks ago and like father like son, we both ordered martinis with olives.  The waiter took our order, left our table, and when he walked to the bar he called out the order to the bartender.  While he did that my dad shouted “UP!” across the room, just to make sure that’s how the beverages were prepared.  Here’s hoping that I can follow in Dad’s footsteps and at 84 have the gumption to shout my cocktail instructions across the restaurant.

Happy Father’s Day….so what if it’s a week early.  Oh yeah, the biopsies came back normal.  Of course they did.

Perry’s Tot Martini

Since Dad is an old Navy man, I chose Perry Tot’s Navy Strength by New York Distilling for this martini. Legend says that Navy Strength gin is at the highest proof  that will still allow gunpowder to ignite should it become soaked with the spirit. I’m not in a position to test that, but it does make a damn good martini. Cheers Dad.

  • 4.5 oz Perry’s Tot Navy Strength gin
  • 0.5 oz Dolin dry vermouth
  • 2 dashes Berg & Hauck’s Lemon bitters
  • stir and strain into a chilled Nick & Nora coup with olives

~ by Tom on June 11, 2012.

One Response to “What a Fighter Your Dad Is”

  1. We love the glass and the anise garnish is perfection!

Leave a comment