A Call to Action

I was asked by a loyal reader to come up with a cocktail creation for her party, you know, if I had it in me.

I like a challenge like that.  It was just after Thanksgiving; that nether period between Black Friday and Cyber Monday that is neither season nor occasion.  The fact that there is a day called Cyber Monday is enough to send a winter chill down my shirt.  I wanted to do something with an apple bent, but fleetingly so.  Autumn is my favorite season and it has fast departed, so after a little research, I found this recipe of an Apple Jack Rabbit.  I modified the proportions a bit to my taste and added a couple dashes of Fee’s Whiskey Barrel Bitters.

Apple Jack Rabbit

  • 2 oz Laird’s Bonded Apple Brandy
  • 0.5 oz Grade B Maple Syrup
  • 0.5 oz lemon juice
  • 0.5 oz orange juice
  • 2 dashes Fee’s Whiskey Barrel Bitters

This recipe is slightly different from the one here.  I upped the Apple Jack and balanced the sweet and sour a little more.  The bitters gave the drink a bit of a holiday taste.  We improvised with a wine glass for the presentation.  I think my party host was happy.

~ by Tom on December 5, 2009.

3 Responses to “A Call to Action”

  1. I’ve had that apple brandy and it is good! This seems like a good drink for the fall/winter.

  2. That really looks yummy! I tried it with regular Laird’s applejack and A grade maple syrup. Still good but I’ll be sourcing the bonded Laird next chance I get.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

